Owain Fon Williams ???

I am in no way suggesting that the excellent Fabianski loses his place between the sticks but we need a capable backup and, with the exception of two years ago, Gerhard Tremmel has looked more than a little shaky recently. Now why would Owain Fon Williams, a keeper Tranmere have just released, be any better?

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/32882386

Maybe its my heart speaking more loudly than my head but I’ve always been impressed with the 6’4″ goalkeeper…..my heart liking the fact that he’s Welsh (sorry), plus he’s still only 28 year old, relatively young for a keeper. He’s good on crosses, a good shot-stopper, to be hoenst I really can’t understand why Tranmere are releasing him (maybe their finances aren’t so pretty, let me know if you know).

Leave a comment